Destiny 2 Witch Queen Release Time

Destiny 2 Witch Queen Release Time

There isn’t long to go now to finally jump into Destiny 2’s The Witch Queen and face Savathun. The new expansion is gearing up to be huge, sprawling new exotics, substantial changes to how Void works, and much more. While you still have a few days to complete the exorcism activity in preparation for the launch, this guide has all the information you need regarding The Witch Queen release’s time, including the full maintenance schedule and when to pre-load.

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen Release Time Schedule

Developer Bungie has officially shared the release schedule for Destiny 2’s The Witch Queen, which is as follows:

February 21: Destiny 2 is brought offline at 6:45 p.m. PT/9:45 p.m. ET across all platforms.
February 21: Pre-load for Update 4.0.0.1 becomes available at 7:00 p.m. PT/10:00 p.m. ET on all platforms.
February 22: Destiny 2 is brought back online at 9:00 a.m. PT/12:00 p.m. ET and Update 4.0.0.1 becomes available on all platforms and regions.
February 22: The Destiny 2 maintenance is scheduled to complete at 10:00 a.m. PT/1:00 p.m. ET.

That’s the gist of the launch schedule, but there is additional information for players using the PlayStation 4 version. Folks playing this version are required to download “all associated Destiny 2 Required Content before playing The Witch Queen,” Bungie says in the latest TWAB. For this, launch Destiny 2 after the 4.0.0.1 patch is released. Once the downloads have started, you can close the game and the Required Content downloads will continue in the background during the maintenance downtime.

According to the developer, while the PlayStation 4 download is expected to be large, players will have a smaller installation size once the download is finished, which should help improve the download and installation of future PlayStation 4 patches.

Destiny 2 Witch Queen Release Time 1

Bear in mind that some Destiny API features on Bungie.net, mobile, and third-party apps are expected to be disabled during the maintenance starting on February 21. Moreover, while players are able to jump back into Destiny 2 at 9:00 a.m. PT/12:00 p.m. ET on February 22, folks should expect a queue until maintenance finishes at 10:00 a.m. PT/1:00 p.m. ET. No one can access the game until then, but at the very least, you can get a headstart by getting it early.

You May Also Like:

It’s good to know The Witch Queen‘s release time days in advance, but it’s hard to know how it’s going to go. Bungie mentions that players placed in the queue may experience sign-on issues as “background maintenance is still ongoing,” which doesn’t sound surprising. But it’s also a subtle way of saying that you may lose your place in the queue. Who knows? Perhaps it won’t take forever for everybody to get in. But if this is your first time diving into a Destiny 2 expansion on launch day, grab some snacks and build yourself up with patience.

Until then, make sure to prepare yourself properly for the expansion, learn about everything being vaulted, and make sure to grab this weapon before The Witch Queen launches.

Author: Deann Hawkins